Rocky Race Report Preview

Hi blog friends! 15:33 yesterday and a bit of a suffer-fest. I will have good stories and a race report for you tomorrow. In the meantime, here’s this teaser:
I was feeling great the first 20 mile loop. My legs were light and I was clipping along happily with a bunch of guys. It was dark, so I didn’t recognize anybody. And, truth be told, I’m about as oblivious to the names, faces, and feats of most male ultra runners as they are to the women, so I probably wouldn’t have recognized anybody in the light either. EXCEPT Scott Jurek and Anton Krupicka — because you’d have to be living under a rock not to have seen their faces or read something about them. So there I was clipping along, feeling happy. I wasn’t sure how fast we were running because it was dark and I knew I’d take a huge bellyflop if I took my eyes off the trail to take a look at my Garmin. I started to feel like I’d like to stretch my legs out a bit more, so I scootched around a few of the guys — and found myself 5 feet behind Scott Jurek and Anton Krupicka. Holy Sh***!!! I promptly slowed down and let them vanish from sight. Oops. I wish you a could have seen my face when I recognized those two. I imagine all the other guys in the lead pack were thinking, “Who is this nut?” Ah, well, it’s a good story now that the end-of-race vomiting has subsided. ;)
More tomorrow and thank you all so much for your good wishes. I thought about your support throughout the day.

Update: ┬áHere’s the full race report.

This entry was posted in Ultrarunning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Rocky Race Report Preview

  1. PoDog Vogler says:

    Way to go Liza!! I was talking to Bill Hildebrand yesterday and we were talking about Rocky so we both got online to check how things were going. Then we saw your 20 mile split and we both said, “shit, Liza is 5 min behind Anton”. We tried to send you some good karma throughout the day. I will try to send you some good recovery Karma now. Congratulations! Remember, Arkansas Traveller is calling you!!

    PoDog

    • lizahoward says:

      I love that your thoughts matched mine about where I was running. Now I’ve just got to work on maintaining that pace…
      Definitely felt the good karma during the race and I managed to sleep through the night, so thanks for the recovery karma. Would love to come out to Arkansas eventually, but the family might disown me if I bring it up right now.

  2. Sarah says:

    Congratulations on an awesome race! Hopefully you’re stomach wasn’t too upset that you could choke down a few jelly beans at the end.

    • lizahoward says:

      Sarah, I got sick again and couldn’t have any jelly bellies. Most sad. Figuring out my nutrition so I can have the beans post-race is a priority. I’ll have to eat a bag today instead.

  3. Sara G says:

    Congratulations!!!

  4. DavidH says:

    Congratulations Liza! Love the story…I think you should have passed Krupicka and Jurek and maybe event give a little Lance look-back. Then at the next aid-station, hide in the woods until they passed through. Maybe next time. :)

    Way to inspire and find a way to get through those tough segments!

    ….and 5th overall…with this field of runners…I would have to say a mighty solid day.

    Happy recovery!

    • lizahoward says:

      David, any Lance-like look-backs would have ended with me tripping on a big root and getting covered in mud. (Not real coordinated.) I do like the idea of hiding at aid stations though…
      Asa challenged me to a race across a front yard Sunday morning. He won. Thanks so much for the kind words.

  5. Pommers says:

    Fantastic performance Liza! So well done. Great to imagine you coming up to Anton and Scott :-) so well deserved with all the effort you have put in to the early, dark mornings. Great story to tell. Well done.

    • lizahoward says:

      Thanks so much Richard! A woman broke her leg one of the icy bridges during the race and I thought of your Leadville accident — and ran gingerly over all the footbridges even after they were well thawed.

  6. footfeathers says:

    Let’s see, 37 days into the year and you won the national 100k championship and the first big 100 miler of the year. So impressive!
    Great run.
    Tim

  7. Terri says:

    Congratulations, such an accomplishment! I wish I could have been there to see it!

  8. Clea says:

    Congrats on your victory. Nice to see a running mama take it!

  9. Greg L. says:

    Awsome; can’t wait for the full report. Congrats!!

  10. Shane Thread says:

    Congratulations! Looking forward to your full report after reading your comment above about how you reacted when you”scootched” over to see Jurek and Krupicka. Classic! Best wishes for your 2011 races.

  11. Gene Taylor says:

    Congrats on another excellent race. Did you recognize Scott Jurek when you passed him just before mile 60? or was that timing incorrect on the webcast? Either way, great PR in your second RR win! I followed all day on twitter. Thanks to Eliot for that.
    Gene Taylor Madison, Wi

    P.S. All the Wisconsin runners I know finished. Great day overall.

    • lizahoward says:

      I recognized him, Gene, but I didn’t say hi because the poor guy was pretty busy with fans. I believe he was answering a question about how his name was pronounced (“Well, the Europeans ‘Yurek’, but here in the States…”) as I went by. I’d heard he only planned to run 60, so I knew I wasn’t passing him when I went by — but it still felt surreal. And I will thank Eliot. He was outstanding the whole day (of course.) Yeah Wisconsin!!!

  12. donkauer@gmail.com says:

    We were thrilled to read about your great race. Congratulations.

  13. niki says:

    freaking awesome! You continue to amaze, inspire, and make us laugh – thanks!

  14. Catherine Silbiger says:

    Wow! Congrats! I cannot wrap my head around running 100 miles let alone really fast! You are truly an inspiration!!!! Can’t wait to read the race report!

  15. Norma says:

    Congratulations, Liza! Amazing! Can’t wait to read the details :)

  16. Tom B. says:

    Fantastic effort! I enjoyed the play-by-play all day from your twittering crew & the iRunFar site! Still, I wish I was there to see it live. Great story! I think those guys would be glad to have your company in the front — it wouldn’t slow them a bit!

  17. Colin says:

    If anything could inspire me to run 100 miles it would be you and your blog. Very well done. I was able to follow the race via the internet and twitter (thanks Eliot and others) – It filled many dull moments over the weekend.

    All those taking part in the run are truly super human (congratulations to all who attempted it) and given how you won, you must now have transcended super human into something more and joined the ranks of Scott and Anton. As for Ian, no idea where he fits in, I read his blog and he is winning races at just about every distance imaginable.

    Anyway, I must now rummage round my hospital bed here and find my comfort blanket. Can I send it over to you for a signature?

    • lizahoward says:

      Colin,
      I hope you are out of the hospital soon and enjoying wonderful weekends. Thanks so much for your kind comments. I almost asked Eliot if he was updating the Twitter when I ran through the aid stations — I was so excited that I actually set it all up.

  18. olga says:

    Sorry we couldn’t stay another hour (sometimes teenagers are worse than tots). Next time run faster!!! Liza, it was a priviledge to see you zooming by and battling the issues. Eliot is a great man to help and care for you. It was a beautiful day.

    • lizahoward says:

      Okay, next year definitely faster. ;) It was so good to see you at Dogwood. We’ve got to get together for a run sometime. And I’m glad you recognize Eliot’s greatness too.

  19. Mia Phillips says:

    Liza…my hero!!! You are awesome! CONGRATS on an amazing PR!!

  20. Mia Phillips says:

    P.S. Eliot did a great job Twittering! Certainly he knows we’ll expect that for every race!

  21. Pingback: EnduranceBuzz.com » Rocky Raccoon 100 Trail Run – 2011 Results Preview

  22. Lynn B says:

    Liza,

    I was at DamNation Aid Station and have to say that it was a lot of fun to watch the race unfold from our vantage point and with you guys coming through 10 different times. You are an amazing runner and you make it look quite easy… just float!

    Congrats on the win and I look forward to serving you in the future!

    Lynn B
    DamNation Captain

    • lizahoward says:

      Lynn, I can’t thank you and the DamNation Aid Station folks enough. You all are wonderful. Obviously nobody would have been able to do anything on that course without you and your help. And glad I looked like I was floating at least. ;)

Leave a Reply

