Racing tumbleweeds

So there’s a bit of altitude here in Albuquerque.  I had the most pitiful run around the Albuquerque Academy campus (above) earlier tonight.  The tumbleweeds were blowing around a lot faster than I was moving.

This one in particular.

I took a lot of pictures of the tumbleweeds here during breaks in the class.  They’re just so Wile E. Coyote exotic.  And cheering.  A friend told me he knew folks who’d pile three of them on top of one another to make tumbleweed snowmen.  I might have to work that into the day tomorrow before I fly home.  My dad’s been sick, so my thoughts are dulled and tumbleweed amusement is good.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Racing tumbleweeds

  1. Footfeathers says:

    Some of my favorite running is in NM. You should consider Deadman Peaks 50 mile (54 actually) in October. It’s on the most remote and unused sections of the continental divide trail, “less than 20 people per year see it” per BLM. The high desert is absolutely beautiful.

  2. Kat says:

    I have been keeping your dad in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

