Sausage toes

“It is frustrating when you want to go and compete and improve, but your body doesn’t allow you to.  But I’m always a true believer that whatever is there for you, you will get.  No panic whatsoever.  If something is there for me, it’s going to wait for me.” 

-Khalid Khannouchi 

“Khalid Khannouchi: Back on the Radar” in  runningcompetitor.com  

I tweaked my foot on a rock this week and it’s gotten progressively worse over the past few days.  This might be because I ignored the pain until I had to cut my run short today and limp back to the parking lot.  But I’m no doctor.  I’ve had my puffy foot and sausage toes propped up under a bag of ice all day.  I’m also maxing out the ibuprofen dosage — and drinking beer.  It’s the tendons/ligaments on the top of my foot between my third and fourth toes.  Random.  I feel strangely calm about the whole thing.  Maybe that’s just the beer though and not reflective of any Buddhist-like enlightened acceptance.  The running felt pretty darn great today though — until I couldn’t do it anymore.  We’ll see what tomorrow brings.  I’m pretty hopeful that my toes and foot will be slim and serviceable in the morning.

The bag of ice is melting all over the floor, so I’ll leave off for now.  Another zip-lock bag and then some more of “The Gift of Injury” chapter in Matt Fitzgerald’s Run:The Mind-Body Method of Running by Feel.  Hard not to make snarky comments under my breath while I’m reading, but I’m trying.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sausage toes

  1. Pommers says:

    Shame Liza, you have my sympathy but I hope it’s just a temporary glitch as you have said and that you’re back on the trails tomorrow!

  2. Lisa says:

    Bummer Liza! Just a little rest and you will be back at it again!

  3. mtnrunner2 says:

    Ack! I’m sorry to hear it, having gone through way too many ligament issues over the years. Not fun.

    And for me it’s never anything dramatic either, such as stumbling while running a beautiful and dangerous mountain ridge. No, last year I hurt my big toe putting my pants on for work in the morning. Yep.

    Same with skiing. I get hurt more near chair lifts than I do while actually skiing. I guess that’s a good thing. It’s always those few seconds when I let my guard down.

    Hopefully it heals quickly.

    • lizahoward says:

      Thanks! It’s pretty darn embarrassing to write “I stepped on a rock.” I wish I’d at least dropped a watermelon on my foot or something. Guess I was asking for that “just be happy you can run at all message” with all my whining about motivation. ;)

  4. Domingo says:

    Listen to your body is a good way to keep from getting a serious injury. The pain is there for a reason. Your body will thank you for paying attention. It seems to work for me.

  5. Harold Neiper says:

    I did something similar 2wks ago and ran the next day even though it hurt. That didn’t work out so well. Aggravated it more and had to take off for a week. Rest and soon you will be all new!

Leave a Reply

