Vitamin D and Venus fly traps

I think I might have just damaged my child with this video about venus fly traps.

Well, he wanted to know.  I’ve never felt so badly for a fly before.  Poor Asa (who hasn’t shown a soft spot for flies up until this point) kept saying, “But Mom, we want things to live.”  I rambled on about how venus fly traps needed to eat flies because their soil lacked nutrients and how Asa himself ate fish for dinner last night — because he needed nutrients.  The connection was lost on him.  So far no nightmares during his nap this afternoon.

So I have a stress fracture of the shaft and head of my third metatarsal.  Supercool.  I have an appointment tomorrow with a sports medicine podiatrist to find out exactly what that means as far as running goes.  Seems like it’s at least a five-week healing process though.  81 days until Leadville – 5 weeks = 46 days….  I’ll keep you updated.  It looks like low Vitamin D levels were a contributing factor.  I swear, I’m learning more A & P than I wanted to these past few days.  Researching Vitamin D and trying to get the information to stick in my head has kept me busy this morning.  I’m going to have to write it all down I think.  Look for that enthralling post tomorrow — and some cool aqua jogging photos.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Vitamin D and Venus fly traps

  1. olga says:

    Are you trying to say you are not going to WS? That can’t be right. Not second year in a row. I am sure a good taper/3 weeks healing will do you plenty good for an honest try. I sure hope so.

  2. lizahoward says:

    I’m not making any decisions until tomorrow when I talk to the podiatrist. And I’ll be there one way or another. I think Chris and Brian might disown me if the doctor nixes running — two years in row for them too.

  3. olga says:

    Ditto. Take a deep breath.

  4. Pommers says:

    That’s terrible news Liza, I’m so sorry to hear that.
    Lots of calcium enriched yogurt and baby spinach have helped me.
    I’ve also been having chia seeds, blue-green algae and green barley powder in a juice mix in the mornings and comfrey tea (tastes like grass) in the evenings. My wife did a lot of research a few months back and although I was dubious at first, I can’t doubt the results now.
    I hope you heal quickly.

  5. Lisa says:

    Liza, can you believe your good luck??? That is so cool about the Alter G!! Now at least you can keep up your training in a safe manner. When I broke my ankle I wore a boot for about 4 weeks. I hobbled around at work and got plenty of sympathy out in public- people hurrying to open doors for me, picking up things I dropped, etc. I nearly pulled my back out though so be careful!

    I love venus fly traps. I absolutely love how nature is perfectly designed. And no, I never feel sorry for the fly! However, Ruby would so I won’t be showing her that video anytime soon…

    oh, and by the way, I loooove your legs! I can’t wait until my legs are strong and lean too. : )

    • lizahoward says:

      Nice knee scars, eh? Guys like scars, right? I am looking forward to some door opening now. :)
      Asa spends the day making shooting noises and talking about killing bad guys, so it was pretty darn great to see him so broken up over a fly’s death. Nice reminder that all that shooting and killing has nothing to do with actually wanting to hurt anyone.

Leave a Reply

