Accountability update

Well, the internet is not all-powerful; I have not recorded a single meal since I added that to the Leadville prep mix. I’ve been eating well though (no late night bags of tortilla chips, diet coke, or cookie dough), so I will cut myself some slack and just get on with recording this week. (Feel free to check in!) And I’m close to race weight. All those new core muscles have kept me a bit high. (I’m sure!) Otherwise, I’m on track. The foot’s not getting better, but it’s not getting much worse. I just need it to hang on for 40 more days. I’m thinking a lot about taking a good rest after Leadville though — and not asking so much of my family. I mean, what with all the icing and stretching and aqua jogging and running and griping, my husband might just ascend bodily into heaven before my next race. I spent an hour at the pool aqua jogging tonight while Asa did belly flops and “swam” to Eliot. I felt foolish. I can’t imagine ever looking back and thinking, “Gosh, I’m glad I spent that time aqua jogging instead of helping Asa learn to swim.” So maybe no races until January after Leadville.
And last week was pretty miserable for sleep. My mother in-law is coming to town to watch Asa while I go up to Austin to teach a Wilderness First Responder course, and I have one filthy house right now, so more sleep doesn’t seem like it’s in the picture. I listened to an interview on Endurance Planet with Anita Ortiz in which she talked about not needing much sleep. I am envious. Without eight good hours, I am a scatter-brained wreck and the world is a dark and unhappy place. And, on that note, I’m going to put on my very attractive plantar fasciitis boot and head to bed.

This entry was posted in Ultrarunning. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Accountability update

  1. Robby says:

    Hi Liza,

    Just found your blog. The world has always seemed small to me but I guess the internet makes it even smaller. Hope the foot gets better – I’ll be rootin’ for you in Leadville! Hope all else is well for you, sleep deprivation aside. 🙂

    Your long lost pal from NOLS AK,
    (Robby G)

  2. Jane Marcello says:

    I am all for you taking a break!

Leave a Reply

