Up and over Hope Pass

I ran up and down Hope Pass today, and on the way down I ran past a guy who was running effortlessly up a hill I had dragged myself up hours earlier. Honestly, he looked like he was floating. It’s wonderful to see someone running like that. He was having one of those runs where you feel light and full of energy. It was uplifting to see someone having that kind of run — going up a steep hill.
There will be no floating up Hope Pass for me on the 21st. All I could manage today was a pretty sluggish hike. I’d like to blame the altitude, but, truth-be-told, I think I don’t have all that much uphill endurance. The downhill from Hope Pass down to Twin Lakes was awesome though. It was soooo fun to speed downhill after the uphill grind. It was great to just be running. The far side of Hope Pass to Winfield is steeper and harder to run fast downhill. I think I like that uphill better, though. It’s steeper, but shorter and you can see the pass for most of it. On the other side, you can’t see when you’re suffering is going to end.
I ran into two women at the top of Hope Pass — after they overtook me going up. I imagine they were pretty well-known runners. I’m going to have to carry a Sharpie with me, so I can politely pester these running celebrities for hat signings. My niece’s birthday is coming up and I want to give her a hat signed by strong women runners. Good gift, eh? It’s going to be hard to actually send it to her and not keep it myself.
In hostel living news: There was a woman in the bathroom this morning curling here hair. I haven’t seen anyone with a curling iron in a long while. Eliot and Asa have wavy hair and I think I’ve told you that I’ve started to equate going to the pool two times a day as a shower. So no curling irons at our house. Anyway, she was there when I went in at 6:30 and she was still there putting on make-up 45 minutes later. Wow! I don’t think I would make it out of bed in the morning if I had 45 minutes of prep work to do before I could leave the house. Tomorrow I might stake out the bathroom to see exactly what she’s doing for all that time. I will say she looked lovely by the time that she made it to the breakfast table.
Hope you all are having a wonderful day too.

This entry was posted in Ultrarunning. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Up and over Hope Pass

  1. Thomas says:

    I’m glad you like the hat signing thing from celeb runners! Now I won’t feel so awkward asking you for you to sign a hat for me, because you’re one of those celeb runners yourself!

Leave a Reply

