Halfmoon II, Where are you?

I woke up this morning at 5:30 and 8 of the cyclists were already sitting at the breakfast table. I’ve learned that Rock and Roll lube is what you want to put on your chain. Now they’re putting ice cream in their morning coffee and talking about having a gear fashion show tonight. (I’d wear my puffy jacket and puffy pants.) The nervous energy is palpable and making everyone very talkative. Only 2 days until their race. They’re glued to the to different weather websites. So far NOAA has the most hopeful forecast. Winds only 10 mph. They asked if the runners would be doing the same thing in a week. I told them I imagined they would be — minus the talk about the lube. The big question right now is whether Lance is going to show up for the race or not. He’s entered, but yesterday the rumor was he’d changed his mind. This morning the opinion seems to be going the other way.
It’s a rainy, blustery day here. Happily, it’s a scheduled day off for me. E, the wonderful PT massage therapist, and I headed out to try to figure out the route for the runners and crew from Fishhatchery to the Halfmoon II aid station. Two and a half hours later, we were still a bit confused and the rental car was more than a bit muddy. It was a beautiful drive none-the-less. Black clouds over Mount Elbert and a perfect view of a sunlit Hope Pass. Both Elbert and Massive got a dusting of snow in the storm. And we only trespassed on private property just a little bit. I talked with a veteran Leadville runner later and I think we were actually in the right places. We’ll have to do a big tour of the course and aid stations once the crew arrives in town the Thursday and Friday before the race.
I spent a good part of the afternoon watching thousands of dollars of bikes being driven through town. Made me feel a bit better about my last pair of “pricey” running shoes. And now it’s time to head to Safeway for something tasty. My appetite has come back with a vengeance. I will try to avoid the chip aisle, but I’m not hopeful.

This entry was posted in Ultrarunning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

