Miss Nelson Is Missing

Are you familiar with this children’s book?  It’s a good one.  My mom read it to me when I was little, so it’s been around a while.  Remember the substitute teacher who replaces sweet and pretty Miss Nelson?  Miss Viola Swamp.  I will be channeling Miss Swamp today.  Great.

The students have to put their address on the outside of an envelope at the beginning of class, so we can send them their certification cards.  Five of my students didn’t know how to address a letter last night.  I had to coach them through it.  “No, you’ll have to put the city and state on there too.”  “Now, you’ll need to add your name to that.”  These are really (really) bright kids; They just had never sent a letter before.  E-mail, text, twitter — they probably did all that while I was teaching.  Letter writing…nope.  WOW!  Times they are a’changin’.

Gonna run after class tonight.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Miss Nelson Is Missing

  1. Sara G says:

    I remember that book too.

    Wow! I may need to ask my class of college freshmen if they know who to address a letter…

    We missed you today at Toby’s party. It was nice to see Eliot and Asa. Alex was eyeing the rides for the “bigger” kids, like the boats and trains. 🙂

  2. lizahoward says:

    I was trying to think when they’d ever really have to address a letter. They’re not sending anything through the mail to distant friends. Their grandparents are in their 50s, so they’re on-line. These kids are not paying bills — and they’d probably pay on-line anyway. The only thing I could come up with was Christmas cards. But I’d bet a belt buckle none of them is planning on using a pen to spread Yuletide Cheer. I’m not judging; I was just taken off guard. It was like when I found out my friends in Germany hadn’t seen The Wizard of Oz.
    I wish I’d been at Toby’s party too! There’s no place like home.

Leave a Reply

