Bye folks

My folks just left town, so I’m feeling a little low.  It’d be much better if we lived within easy driving distance from one another.  But that’s not going to happen unless they move to the huge state of Texas.  And while San Antonio did a good job drawing them in last week with its lovely weather, the 90 degree warm snap over the long weekend (the long October weekend) kept them from contacting any realtors.  Sigh.

I need to get out for a run because it’s beautiful outside again (If you were to order weather, this is what you’d order.), and it’ll cheer me up.  I also ate my weight in bread, olives, hummus and a beet and walnut salad last night, and I feel like I need to work some of it off.  (30 pounds of bread, 10 of hummus and olives, and 60 pounds of beets and lettuce — to be exact.)

I started using a core workout video on Monday and I am crippled today.  I’ve taken to swearing out loud at the cute (and amazingly strong) young girl who demonstrates the exercises.  So far the swearing hasn’t helped, but I’ll let you know.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bye folks

  1. Domingo says:

    I know its hard. I lived in the DC area for 5 years. All my family was here. I made it back. Maybe they will change there minds in February when it is 60 here And in the 20’s up north.

  2. Sarah says:

    What video are you using? I used to do ab jams and it totally kicked my ass. It was a friends and it only comes with a series, which is about $70, and I’m not paying that much if I just want one video. So, anyway, I’m looking for something new.

    • lizahoward says:

      Hi Sarah!
      The video is called McMillan Runner’s Core Routine. David Hanenburg did a review of it on Endurance Buzz.
      http://endurancebuzz.com/2010/09/03/mcmillan-runners-core-routine-dvds-run-training-tool/
      I bought the second and third videos because together they cost as much as the first (about $27) and I figured I could make it work. So far it’s been just right for me. (I’m sore, but I keep going back for more.) There aren’t any bells and whistles, just a girl doing some really basic and straightforward exercises. That’s what I need, but it sounds like you actually have some core strength, so you might find it a bit dull.

Leave a Reply

