Sunscreen

I looked down in the shower today and was shocked by the strata of tan lines on my legs.  There are four distinct colors.  I’m sure I’d see some great designs on my back if I looked.  So if you have a sport sunscreen you love, please send me a note.  I usually just end up slathering myself with whatever tube I can find in the car before I start running.  (No, not half an hour before I start running.)  Most of the tubes are left over from Eliot’s trips with students.  I sweat off whatever I’ve put on about two miles into the run.  Part of that has to do with the Texas humidity and part is just a natural gift.  Women glow.  Men perspire.  Horses sweat.  Horses and me.  Having sunscreen drip into your mouth during a run has to be worse than eating soap.

The American Academy of Dermatology and a bunch of other organizations recommend using a shot glass full (1 ounce) of sunscreen each application.  That’s one shot glass every two hours.  Certainly they’re talking about using that much when you’re in your speedo, but even if you only used three-quarters of a shot glass, that’s a huge amount of sunscreen to get on at one time.  I know because I tried to demo the recommended amount on one of my students.  He could only rub in about half an ounce before he started to look like a slick ghost.  (I love my job.)  Using that much sunscreen also means that you should consider the ounces listed on the bottle as doses.  A 4 ounce, $12 dollar bottle of Neutrogena Ultimate Sport will last four applications.  Two long runs if I reapply.  Pricey.  Maybe the best course of action (besides running in dark pants, long sleeves and a floppy hat) is buying cheaper sunscreen, using a lot of it, and reapplying.  Maybe something special just for your face…  Thoughts?

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunscreen

  1. Thomas says:

    Of all the ones I’ve tried, taking price into consideration, I think Coppertone Sport, Breathable Sunscreen in a blue bottle is the best for it’s price. It works great, doesn’t feel greasy after you put it on like others, and if I put a good amount on before I start a long run, I’ve never had to reapply and it’s lasted me 6 or 7 hours in the sun. I don’t get burned with it. I wouldn’t get the kind you spray on. It works good, but you don’t get many applications out of the bottle. I buy the lotion that you put on the old fashion way and the bottle will last you a while.
    That said, I have had better sunscreen bought at a sports shop, but it was over $20.00 for a small bottle. The only real reason I thought it was better is it went on and dried super quick.
    Hope this helps. See you at Cactus.

  2. Thomas says:

    P.S. I’ll have a shirt at Cactus that I’d like you to sign please! 🙂

  3. Josh says:

    My experience with sunscreens during extended runs is using SCAPE sunscreen. I’ve found it to be quite effective, not streaking, running, or wearing off after 4-6 hours. I don’t remember how much it is, but you can get it at any of the Soler’s Sports stores, and I think at REI.

  4. evilbaldguy says:

    We recently came out with a new product that is specifically sunscreen for your scalp. Check it out. http://www.evilbaldguy.com

Leave a Reply

