The sweat becomes you.

Yesterday I was running around like a nut and I was feeling pretty pleased with myself for making a meeting with exactly 30 seconds to spare and a hot cup of Starbucks in my hand.  My good friend met me in the parking lot with the news that the meeting was canceled.  60 to 0 in 5 seconds.  Then she told me that I was looking nice.  (Cue chuckling.)  I’d spent exactly eight minutes showering and getting dressed.  I dropped Asa off at 8:30.  Ran from 9:00 to 12:15.  Home at 12:28 and out the door again at 12:36.  8 minutes.  I was sweating again as soon as I got in the car.  You know that exercised-hard-and-still-sweating-after-the-quick-shower kind of sweating.  When I snorted at my friend’s kind comment (thinking of my wet hair pulled into a sloppy ponytail and the tinted sunscreen I’d smeared on while actually running out of the bathroom), my friend said, “No, you really are glowing.”  I told  her it was sweat.  Not to be dissuaded, my friend replied, “Well, it becomes you.”

“I know!”   Hahahahahhahaha!!!

I’m sure none of you are laughing as much as I was at that exchange.  But the idea that I look better covered in sheen of sweat cracked me up.  It’s so true.  I’m one of those girls whose beauty comes into its own after a good week without a shower in the mountains.  Weren’t familiar with that subcategory?  I’m a knockout after three weeks.  Ask my husband.  😉

The book club was great fun last night.  The ladies said they enjoyed “Born to Run” and I kept the crazy talk to a minimum.  The surprise of the evening was the news that two of the ladies and one husband were Vitamin D deficient.  Lots of sunscreen and not much time in the sun.  I’d heard about the sunscreen v. Vitamin D deficiency debate, but it was a surprise to hear how common it is.  These folks were diagnosed after feeling utterly depleted of energy for a while.  Wish I could blame the Vitamin D.

Time for the core workout video and another cup of coffee.  Hope you’re all looking lovely and handsome today.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The sweat becomes you.

  1. Amy says:

    Long-time listener, first-time caller. Love your blog, and even though I’m not a mom, Asa makes me laugh out loud (often at work). I woke up a little late this morning but still wanted to cram my 10-miler in before work … so I was wearing sweat this morning, too. Both the dog and I are happier for it, though, so “no sweat” by making it into the office with 30 seconds to spare 🙂

  2. Martin says:

    The sunscreen/vitamin D deficiency reminds me of something I’ve heard about Gordie Ainsleigh (WS 100 founding father). He completed a study that indicated that people who are in the sun a lot are more likely to get skin cancer, but *less* likely to die of *any* cancer.

    How do you manage to discuss “Born to Run” without “crazy talk”? Doesn’t it kinda go with the territory? I enjoyed the book, although I wouldn’t call it great literature. I ran Leadville in ’94 (28:48:xx) so it was the nostalgia factor that made it worthwhile for me. I tried to re-watch the (VHS) video of the ABC Wide World of Sports coverage, only to find it no longer worked (sitting in a box for 10+ years is not good for VHS tapes). I upgraded to the DVD. Watching the video was about 90% of the research McDougall did for his account of the race.

    I enjoy your blog. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

