Running Prozac

Yesterday was a hard day for me — for no good reason.  I had no energy (for no good reason) and the boy was driving me nuts (because that’s his job as a three year-old).  He’s started taking teeny tiny steps when I ask him to go somewhere he doesn’t want to go.  Picture me losing my mind as he makes the trip to the bathroom in 90 million steps.  Two good mom friends saved Asa from my choleric melancholy (can I put those two words together?) and we spent an unexpectedly great morning hanging out with them and their little boys.  I don’t have a lot of mom friends here in San Antonio.  I spent a good while last night hopped up on diet soda thinking about that.  I’ll spare you the caffeinated introspection.  Suffice it to say, I really appreciated O. and K.’s friendship yesterday — and the coffee.  I returned home in much better spirits.

The hard (for no good reason) day was back in full swing by 5 o’clock.  This time I was saved by the Thursday night run at Eisenhower.  (5:30 at Ike, 6:30ish at Freetails.  Come join us.)  The weather is perfect in San Antonio right now and Ike was gorgeous in the evening sun.  Eliot packed me off to the park with a smile.  The running Prozac worked like a charm and the world was a bright and shiny place again by the time I made it to Freetails.  We had a great showing last night.  Chris told Cactus stories and the folks doing the marathon talked about corrals.  A. and W. joined us for the first time, which was awesome.  One new running buddy for the group and maybe a climbing partner for Eliot.  I hope you all enjoy this Friday (for no good reason).  Here’s Asa’s favorite music video right now if you need some help getting there.  Make sure to get about 30 seconds in if you start watching.

30 miles at Government Canyon tomorrow and 20 on Sunday.  Whoop.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Running Prozac

  1. olivia says:

    And we enjoyed you, too!!
    p.s. thank you for the delicious bread.
    🙂

  2. Mia Phillips says:

    Liza! So glad I found your blog! I just bought the November issue of Trail Runner… you know, since I’ve recently been inspired to start training for a 50k 🙂 AND there you were! Broke my wrist recently, so I’ve literally been forced to run. So, I’ll admit, with my cycling obsession I had no idea what an ultra-running celebrity you are!! You will always be a part of my Leadville experience…not everyone gets to room with a Leadville champion! Keep up the good work on the blog, I need all the inspiration and motivation I can get!

    • lizahoward says:

      Mia! It’s so good to hear from you. I’m so sorry about your wrist. Cycling? I don’t know how much inspiration you’ll find in these posts, but hopefully some chuckles. I hope we can room together next summer.

  3. anna gast says:

    OMG! That video’s off the hook. Liza, I am LOVING your blog– following it like it’s my job (which it isn’t).

Leave a Reply

