Texas sweat

I walked out of the house this morning without my coffee.  I did this despite continuously repeating “Don’t forget the coffee.” for five minutes before leaving.  Outloud.  Not the best start to the day, and pretty indicative of my state of  mind mid-week.  Single parents out there: I am not worthy!!!

I always feel wildly underdressed when I drop Asa off at his little “school” Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.  The other parents are dressed to the nines (suits and heels) and I’m wearing slightly smelly running clothes.  Honestly, there’s only so much Texas summer sweat you can wash out of running gear.  After a certain amount of saturation, they’re always going to have a bit of an odor.  It’s the moms in their workout outfits who make me most self-conscious about this.  These ladies look like they’ve stepped off the pages of some trendy gear catalog.  They match.  They’re wearing make-up.  They’ve shaved their legs and their ponytails are styled.  They’re certainly not smelly.  Who are these women?!?  I’m sure their toenails are all lovely too.

After Asa gets his good-bye smooch, I head back to the car as quickly as possible.  Sometimes I jog.  I turn off the Wiggles and maneuver among the shining SUVs toward the parking lot exit without delay.  I don’t breathe freely until I hit the first light and I’ve had a sip of lukewarm coffee.

I really should embrace the process — and show up in sweat pants with holes and bleach stains.  Maybe Friday.  In the meantime, I’ve got some sweating to do.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

