I’m official

Hi folks.  I left my germs with Eliot and Asa when I headed out to California and now Eliot sounds like he’s been smoking two packs a day since he was 12.  We all fell asleep around 8:30 last night.  Eliot’s still asleep 11 hours later.

Today’s goal is simply to make a plan for the rest of the month — and maybe empty some kleenex-filled trash baskets.  Asa and I have a gingerbread house decorating get together at 9:30 this morning.  And we travel for Christmas on the 22nd.  Responsibilities and goals in between are fuzzy.  I know I need to make Christmas presents for many people.  I need to make the people list today.  And then I have to figure out the annual Howard Baked Present.  I think we sent out biscotti last year.  We’re in a bit of a biscotti rut actually.  I think it’s been biscotti for a few years.  (They just travel so darn well.)  Before that we were in a bit of a homemade jelly rut — until the Pectin Disaster.  Christmas bagels?  So many decisions.  Such a perpetually dirty house.  AND it’s Eliot’s birthday on the 24th.  Christmas Eve and Eliot.  Send your brilliant birthday present ideas now!  I arranged a mountain bike present from friends and family three years ago and I haven’t been able to top it.  Oh, and I have to figure out our fish dishes for the Feast of the Seven Fishes.  What?  Unfamiliar with the Feast of the Seven Fishes?  No Italian blood?  I’m sorry.

I hope you’re all having a good morning.  A big group of us is heading out to Bandera on Saturday.  Come join us if you can.  6am at the Exxon on Bandera and 1604.  I think some are leaving at 5am too.  A. and I will be out there Sunday too.

The North Face people sent me a very nice note and took me off the DNF list.  Thanks North Face folks!  It feels good to be an official finisher.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m official

  1. Domingo says:

    As far as a gift for Eliot. How about gift certificates from the Alamo Draft house. They have large open seats and all food and drink is served to you by wait staff. Including wine and beer. My wife and I go there alot. Its nice little getaway when you want a night away frm the kids.

  2. trimble says:

    Or a trip back to SF… all costs covered once you get here…
    PS: I like biscotti…

Leave a Reply

