Treadmill training for Bandera ;)

One of Eliot’s students brought over a box full of rocks as his white elephant gift for the Christmas party.  They were still sitting on the living room floor this morning when I headed out to the treadmill and, well, it was just too tempting.  I’m practicing my uphill running (without the rocks).  I need to get stronger running uphills.  Downhills too.  Flats too.  How many days until Bandera?

I’m heading up to Austin tonight to teach a Wilderness First Responder Recert class over the weekend.  Recert classes are a lot of fun because they’re scenario based.  Lots of thought provoking scenarios and lots of moulage.  You can bet some of those students will find themselves taking tumbles down Ice Cream Hill at Bandera and smacking their knees on sharp rocks.  Heavy on the knee blood.

Hope your day is treadmill free.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Treadmill training for Bandera ;)

  1. Tony Maldonado says:

    You need LOTS more baby rocks, and some GIANT rocks, to simulate running at Bandera! But, it’s a start.

  2. DavidH says:

    Love it! 🙂

    My wife did this for me last year in my flatlander prep for Bandera. It worked really well plus she got a great workout. Griffin (my 3 year old) simply through the smaller rocks at me which wasn’t as much fun for me although he was smiling the whole time…

  3. Mark says:

    That’s too funny 🙂

Leave a Reply

