Change

A young man was already in the elevator when I stepped in at the Extended Stay America this morning.  We said good morning and then he began pulling crumpled hundred dollar bills out of his wallet.  
“Damn! I can’t use any of these in the vending machine.” 
He’d pulled at least $500 out of his wallet by this time.  
“Sorry, I don’t have change,” I said.  (Cuz what else do you say?)
He pulled some more hundreds out.  
“Man, I’m hungry and it is so LATE.”
It was 7am.  I nodded.  
Just before I left the building I heard one of the housekeepers trying to give him directions to a convenience store.
“Man, I don’t know my way around here!  I just drove here from Houston last night.”
Never a dull movement at the Extended Stay America.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

