Lordy Lordy Lordy

Eliot’s turned 40!  He’s looking very handsome this morning drinking coffee from his Hawaii coffee mug tapping his foot to Mele Kalikimaka on the radio.  (Mele Kalikimaka is the thing to say / On a bright Hawaiian Christmas Day)  We’re taking him to Waikiki for surf lessons this morning.  And then we’ll fete him with seven fishes tonight.  (Honorary Italian for his birthday.)  My sister is the talented cook in the family, so I’m not sure exactly what’s on the menu yet.  Surely some fried smelt, broiled shrimp, and pasta aglio e olio (anchovies in olive oil).  Homemade sushi?  My grandmother was an adventurous woman; I’m sure she’d approve of the Italian-Hawaiian fusion.

I got up at 4 this morning to get a run in before the festivities got going.  My San Antonio buddies are going to give me grief, but so far my island paradise running has been on the roads.  I’m trying to be a low maintenance runner this Christmas.  4am on the roads gets me back to the house before folks are into their second cup of coffee.  Amanda has me doing short runs in the evening too working on speed.  It’s actually a nice change of pace…literally.  It feels good to try to speed up.  It’s also really really hard.  I’m kind of dreading the five one-mile repeats later today.  Well, at least they’ll keep me away from the wine for a while.  And these chocolate muffins.

The muffin fairy resupplies the platter each night.  Evil muffin fairy.

I hope you all are having a wonderful Eliot’s Birthday too.

They give you these after you finish every run here.

 

This entry was posted in ultrarunning. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lordy Lordy Lordy

  1. Norma M. Arias says:

    You look so cute with that lei around your neck!

Leave a Reply

