Bandera 100k goals

You know, I don’t have any time goals for this race.  Sorry for the teaser.  I’m going to work very hard, run at the edge of my limits, and hopefully run as fast as I ever have out there.  I’d love to get one of the Montrail spots for Western States, but I’m just not great at these shorter distances.  (Yes, I do get a bit of pleasure calling a 62 mile race, “short.”)  I’d like to work on speed this year.  Kind of.  Would a track have to be involved?  Really what I’d like to work on this year is figuring out a way to make running these long distances useful to others.  (Thomas the Tank Engine propaganda is hard to resist; I want to be a Very Useful Engine this year.)  Getting faster would be a means to that end.

5 Bandera Goals:

1.  Test perceived physical limits

2.  Lift the spirits of other runners

3.  Get some good signatures for Asa’s nap mat

4.  Not hit a deer on the drive out or back

5.  Help Joe and Joyce after the race.  (I always want to help with the race breakdown, but, so far, I’ve only managed it once.  I can usually only manage to shove a fistful of Jelly Bellies into my mouth every couple of minutes for the first few hours after a race.)

PS. If the first two females already have spots at WS, does the spot get passed down?  Seems unlikely.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bandera 100k goals

  1. Sarah says:

    Check the montrail site but I’m pretty sure if the people who are 1st and 2nd already have spots at WS then the spot gets passed to the next person. You totally have a chance. Good luck this weekend.

  2. lizahoward says:

    Ooooh. I will check. 100% chance of rain now Saturday night. Mud is my friend.

  3. Todd says:

    From the Ultra Cup site: For Montrail Ultra Cup races that are longer than 50K, if either the first or second place finisher is already entered in Western States 100, then the third place finisher will receive the automatic entry offer. If neither first nor second is in Western States 100 and decides not to run it, there is no sliding to third. The automatic entry will not slide down further than third place. Enjoy the race. I was hoping to photograph it, but will not be able to make it out there.

Leave a Reply

