Watching you

“God’s watching you, Mom.”

That’s what Asa just told me.  He’s down at the other end of the table peeling a banana.

“What?”

“God’s WATCHING you.”

Asa goes to a little Methodist day school three days a week (so I can run) and it’s easy to picture his teacher, Mrs. S., leveling this warning at a room full of 3 year-olds.  It certainly stopped me mid-bite of cream of wheat.  (Especially since I had a bit of a melt down when Eliot told me he was working late tonight — after I chose to sleep in rather than do my three-hour run at 4am — because I figured I could just do it this evening when he got home at his usual time.  “Yes, God watches your father’s patient tolerance of me daily, son.”)  Kind of makes God sound a bit too much like the Elf on the Shelf, doesn’t it?

Oh!, and now from the floor where he’s playing with little Lego men, “God made the bad man special too, mom.”  Good grief, the orthodoxy this morning!  Why did I resolve to only drink one cup of coffee a day this year?

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Watching you

  1. Catherine Silbiger says:

    I just started reading your blog everyday and I absolutely love it! You are hilarious! I met you briefly at Bandera, once a couple of years ago. You had just finished running 60 miles or something like that with a really tall talkative guy. It was brief and I don’t even think we were really introduced. We were all standing around listening to your friend, he’s funny, too.

    I run trails a lot with Hill Country Trail Runners here in Austin, so I know you through winning some of Joe’s races.

    Anyway, just wanted to let you know that I am enjoying your blog immensely!

    • lizahoward says:

      Hi Catherine. So nice to hear from you! Your description of Chris made us San Antonio runners chuckle — it got e-mailed to me before I read it myself. Tall, talkative and really wonderful. I hope we get really introduced at a race soon. Rocky?

      • Catherine Silbiger says:

        I will not be at Rocky, but I will definitely introduce myself to you when our paths cross…

  2. Emily says:

    That’s funny stuff! Thanks for the reminder, Asa!

  3. Travis Warren says:

    Hello, I found you through researching trail running. My wife and 2 kids, 3 and 2 years, are looking into relocating from the east coast to San Antonio. I was hoping I could ask you a few questions about what it is really like to live there and run compared to other places and also how easy/hard it is to get to some good trails living north of the city. Any help or reassurance would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks for your time,

    Travis Warren
    finefurniturewoodworking@yahoo.com
    410 259 6300

  4. Trimble says:

    …from the mouths of babes…. you are raising one sharp kid:)

Leave a Reply

