Wild uncluttering

Eliot gave me some Asa-free time last night to weed through our possessions.   It was great and now there are twelve bags for Goodwill sitting in the living room.  I miss the “purge of possessions” that came every two or three years growing up as an Army brat.  I haven’t had a good uncluttering purge since the boy was born.  And I only got through our bedroom and one linen closet last night.  Twelve bags.  Our house has become a repository for things people don’t want in their own homes, but that are too nice to get rid of if they can’t be given a good home someplace else.  This is a blessing, of course, but it also gives our house the feel somebody’s grandparents’ attic.

I found a stack of photos from my twenties that I’d tucked away (see yesterday’s post).  It was interesting to see pictures of myself over those years.  Afterwards I headed directly back to the closet and culled through my clothes again.  I have a bit of a Boy Scout always-be-prepared / Depression mentality when it comes to clothing.  But it felt good to pass on the ill-fitting, hand-me-down business suits and the ill-fitting 90s cocktail party wear. (Anyone need any hot pink silk pants?)  I’ve had no sartorial obligations in the last ten years.  And if my life takes a wild turn in the future, well, there will probably still be stores that sell clothing and we will probably be able to come up with some money to buy a few outfits that actually fit.  I know, caution to the wind!

There’s a wind chill advisory here this morning.  It might get down to zero degrees.  I’m guessing I’m going to have the trails at Eisenhower park this morning to myself.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wild uncluttering

  1. footfeathers says:

    It’s -16 here this morning. It was near 70 five days ago.

  2. Kat says:

    Stay warm, Friend.

  3. Trimble says:

    I was just whining to myself that it’s a chilly 50 here… ok I’ll stop.

  4. olga says:

    Ask Larry decluttering is my middle name. Or first. He is afraid to leave me home alone. And we already don’t have anything. Between growing up a military brat – hello, sista! – and having to move every (EVERY!) 2 years since I am in US (10 times in 18 years) – it comes handy. I did sleaning of closets at my girlfriend’s a month ago – 6 garbage bags, just clothes!

Leave a Reply

