Wrap up

Today just kind of disappeared on me.  I fell asleep around 3am after trying to put the house in some semblance of cleanliness and order, and then later Asa and I went to the zoo.  The rest of the day after the gibbons and kimodo dragons is kind of a blur.  There was carrying Asa (who must weigh 800 pounds now) back to the car after he got soaked stomping through one of the manmade streams (Not what Amanda had in mind when she scheduled a 30 minute recovery walk, I’m thinking.)  and there was some mud making and dam building.  But really, I can’t give much of an account of myself today.  The house is certainly still a wreck.  I won a generous gift certificate from North Face at Rocky and I am very grateful for it, but I couldn’t help wondering if I could somehow trade it for a few hours with a cleaning service.  Seems like the negotiations would be cumbersome.  (So I have this gift certificate I will give you if you clean the bathrooms, kitchen, and the floors… the North Face…outdoor clothing and gear…Well, at least the bathrooms…)

I was going to give an account of what I learned running Rocky this year, and I will if anyone’s curious, but I’m feeling a bit uninspired right now.  The bed is calling  pretty loudly from the other room.

I feel blessed to be a  member of the ultra running community.  I saw two older runners bent over sideways with back pain who made it across the finish line on Saturday.  It was humbling.  Running fast is a lovely feeling, and, sometimes an important goal, but it’s not what draws me to ultras.  It’s that opportunity to practice endurance when the stakes are low.  No one hopes to have a bad 1oo, but a hard day is certainly a fast-track to humility and compassion.  And I need those in barrel-fulls.  So as much as I’d rather have had my nutrition figured out, and skipped the immodium and struggling, it’ll be good to have that experience to draw on.  Thank you to Joe and Joyce for the opportunity.  Thank you to the volunteers for your kindness and time.  Thank you to my friends and family.  I can’t imagine how the day would have passed without you there.  And thank you to Amanda for getting me to the start.

I will have something good and funny for you all tomorrow.  Sleep well.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wrap up

  1. olga says:

    That last paragraph…priceless.

  2. Hi Liza! I just found your blog after reading some recaps of Rocky Raccoon. I live in East Texas and have never run more than 26.2 miles, but I admire the ultra running community and would love to try a 50 mile race one day in the far, far, far future. You’re blog is great and I love your voice – will definitely be back!

    And congrats on a great race at Rocky!

    • lizahoward says:

      Thanks so much Chrissy. You should know it’s a pretty slippery slope from running a 50 to running 100s. You fall in with the wrong crowd, the peer pressure… It’s ugly. Let me know if I can be of any help to you.

Leave a Reply

