Sponsorship!!!

New Balance is taking me on as a member of their Outdoor Ambassador Team.  Whoop!  Shoes and help getting to Western States!!  Double whoop.  Looks like Asa’s sweatshop career will be put on hold for a while longer — though I do have my eye on some pricey new windows for the house. (Windows that actually keep the cold out.)

Anyway!!  More on the Outdoor Ambassador program in a bit, but first you just have to watch this video called “The Trail” of their current outdoor ambassadors and picture how they can splice me in.  Eliot and I have laughed ourselves into tears thinking about the possibilities.

Here’s what I’m thinking.

They could cut from the scene of Anton Krupicka looking pensive in a mountain cabin to me staring pensively out my dirty kitchen window while I wash dishes.  (I could certainly never stand in the cabin he’s in.  Did you check out that floor?  I’d trip, fall, and impale myself on one of those broken boards.)

Brandy Erholtz says “I enjoy the pain that it takes to get up to the top of a mountain.”  Cut to me popping handfuls of Tylenol and Immodium during a race.

Good-looking runner speeding down a trail to me speeding after Asa trying to get some pants on him.

“If the trail gets too rocky, I just step it up and I achieve” to me tripping and falling down some technical terrain.

The possibilities seem endless.  Send ideas because we San Antonio runners might just amuse ourselves with some footage this summer.  Anyway, I will do my best to speak to a less glamorous, more clumsy demographic for New Balance.  Right now I’m chuckling thinking about the awesome picture I could take with Anton Krupicka if our paths cross someday.  Him in iconic Anton-wear and me in some pressed, high-waisted mom jeans, my huge mom purse, a minivan in the background.  (We don’t have a minivan, but I’d trade the Prius in a Jack-in-the-Beanstalk heartbeat for one with remote-controlled doors.)  Hope your day is full of amusement.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sponsorship!!!

  1. Julie says:

    Congratulations Liza, that’s wonderful! I bet you are very relieved. And New Balance rocks! Love their running shoes and clothes. It’s about time someone snatched you up. : )

  2. Josh says:

    OMG!!! Congrats Liza on a well-deserved sponsorship! Eliot was recapping the race for David and myself and we have arrived at the conclusion you are a BADASS runner. Freakin’ Legit.

    • lizahoward says:

      Josh, I read your comment just after I dropped Asa off this morning. He was wearing a cowboy hat — it’s Cowboy Day — and carrying a large life jacket. He wanted to be prepared if any of the cows fell into some water. BADASS indeed. 🙂

  3. Sara G. says:

    Yay for Sponsorship!!! Congratulations!

  4. Sarah says:

    I knew it would be NB! Congratulations! Now, you’ll have to steal Anton’s “shirtless” gig from him. 😉 Perhaps they could supply you with a sports bra, one that’s not too tight.

    • lizahoward says:

      I’m hoping they don’t regret the decision as they get to know me — or read some of this blog. Eliot wishes the ambassadors had specific states they were assigned to. Outdoor Ambassador to Texas.

  5. Brett says:

    Hi Liza. I know your perspective is a little tongue in cheek here, but honestly I think you are exactly perfect for them. Lets be real, the vast majority of ultra/trail runners are not 25 year old single, hermit, live on the Appalachian Trail people. Such a lifestyle makes a successful ultra/trail runner more achievable, but those folks only represent a small segment of the market. Most of them are regular people just like you and me, who has to stop to wipe their son’s be-hiner on the way out the door for a run.

  6. Paige T. says:

    The camera can be zoomed in on you running, but at first it’s only showing your face and a little bit of background scenery as you run by. Then, it slowly pans out and shows you have a pack on, a little bit of baby puke on one of your shoulders. As the camera continues to pan out further and moves to one side of your profile, we see that your pack is brimming with stuff…a baby bottle in each pouch on either side, diapers in the cable ties across the front of the pack, a blankey looped across the pack, and some pacifiers dangling from a carabiner on one of the shoulder straps. It pans out further and we see you are pushing a super tricked-out trail stroller, running up some steep, gnarly single track in your MT101s.

    Badass indeed! Congratulations!

    • lizahoward says:

      Love it! Boy, I don’t miss the spit up on the shoulder. Asa’s a heavy beast; I wouldn’t be able to push him up anything in a jogger — tricked out or not. Guess we’ll have to have another to make that video happen. 🙂

  7. Tony M says:

    Congratulations Liza! Well Deserved!
    I noticed in the video Anton is running down a rocky trail. They need to place you in there bouncing UP a rocky trail and off out of sight. I’ve seen this many times, and it is poetry in motion 🙂

  8. olga says:

    I liked Paige’s add! Liza, just what you wished for, as I recall!!!

Leave a Reply

