Figure-8 movement

There’s a great article by Vicky Hallett in the Washington Post about sports bras — that my dad sent me.  Here are some gems:

“Most bras address vertical movement but fail to control the breasts when they shift in other directions.”

“Different types of activity really require quite different support,” says Joanna Scurr, head of the Research Group in Breast Health at the University of Portsmouth in Britain. (Do we have a research group working on this issue in the States too?)

“In tennis, there’s a lot of upper body rotation, which leads to side-to-side breast movement. In basketball, it’s more vertical.”  (Chuckle.)

“Scurr’s research into the effects of breast support on athletic performance (She needs to read my Rocky race report.) has led to the sport-specific line of bras…. The Run Bra zeros in on figure-8 movement (OK, that’s just hysterical.) the Ball Bra has extra support at the top to control up-down bounce, and the Racket Bra is constructed in an M-shape to prevent too much lateral swing.

The article goes on to differentiate between compression bras and “encapsulation” bras (the technology!) and gives some guidance about sizing.  (“Band: Measure the rib cage just under the bust, then add four to get your band size.”)

Eliot needs to get on the computer, so I’ll leave off.  Try not to think about figure-8s too much while you’re running or walking around today.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Figure-8 movement

  1. footfeathers says:

    That’s the kind of study in which I could really give hands-on attention. har har.

    McDavid makes nice sports bras….ahem.
    tim

  2. Olga says:

    What about chafing? I think this should demand all the attention!!!

    • Sarah says:

      I agree, chafing with sports bras is my main concern too. I’m of a size where bounce is not really an issue, but after my 100 last year chafing is. I had welts for a full month after! I’m not paying $68 (gasp!) for a sports bra if it’s just going rub off the skin on my chest like a cheese grater.

      • lizahoward says:

        I know some folks who’ve had success using Body Glide. Flat seems seem to help too, but they’re not easy to find in the less expensive sports bras as far as I can tell.

  3. Larry says:

    Well, this gives me something to occupy my mind during those out-and-back sections at races! 🙂

  4. SteveQ says:

    I can’t help it, I had to figure out whether the figure 8 was for each breast, or if both did half. Did my research…
    Hey, Steve I removed the link in the interest of my mom. 🙂

  5. SteveQ says:

    No prob. I was having one of those “typing faster than thinking” moments.

  6. Tika says:

    Sorry Liza, that hexpad question was directed at Tim/McDavid. (I was wondering what the hexpads in the bra might be offering protection from.) Thanks for making me laugh yesterday (and lots of other days), it was a good day for it!

Leave a Reply

