Too hot for lettuce!

This is what we’ve been up to today.  Lettuce, beans, carrots, melons, radishes, squash, tomatoes, swiss chard: All planted by my green-thumbed husband.  (So by “we” I mean I was in the house napping while Eliot was working.)  I think I’ve mentioned before that I have a black thumb.  Before I gave up on houseplants, I’d bring them in, torture them for a while with love, and then let them die slowly.  Which is why I am filled with dread by the lovely presents Eliot got me at the garden shop.

How long will this bougainvillea and ornamental grass be with us?  I’m trying not to get too attached.

It’s supposed to be in the mid-80s tomorrow, so we were advised to get lettuce seedlings rather than try to start from seeds.  “Welcome to San Antonio!  We’re too hot for lettuce in February!”  I  think it’d make a nice city motto.

I am fighting off the illness that’s making its around town.  I lay in bed this morning for a good while blowing my nose and feeling lousy.  Then I got up and blew my nose some more.  The lousy feeling lifted with the help of a Starbucks splurge, but I didn’t end up running until this afternoon.  And I’ve still got a few miles and some weight lifting to tack on before I turn in.  Happily Asa seems to be holding his own in the germ-filled house.

OK, gotta go help with some Lego building.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Too hot for lettuce!

  1. Gene Taylor says:

    Love the San Antonio motto. Made me laugh out loud. It is snowing and 15 degrees here in Wisconsin as I write you. In this context, a couple of 80 degree days sounds kinda good. Thanks for the entertainment and get well quickly.
    Gene

    • lizahoward says:

      Thanks Gene! I’ve just downed some NyQuil, and I’m almost too tired to care that I can’t use my nose to breathe. I’m not complaining about the warmth; it just makes me worry what April might be like.

  2. Paige T. says:

    Oh, how beautiful that bougainv… pink thing is!!

    Hope you’re feeling better by now :)

Leave a Reply

