Recovery (caving) day

I didn’t check the fridge and cupboards before I headed off to the supermarket this morning and now I’m drowning in broccoli, angel hair pasta, and yellow onions.  I would rather be drowning in other things.  House cleaners, pedicures, and watermelons.  Eliot got me a watermelon after the race and I inhaled it.  Rehydrating and all.

Yesterday we all went caving.  Not Natural Bridge Caverns caving like last week.

We went real down-the-rabbit’s-hole caving.

Can you see the guy’s orange helmet in the cave opening?  We managed to terrify a bat, get nice and dirty, and rock Asa’s world.  He’s been wearing his makeshift caving helmet ever since.  Not sure I’ll go caving the day after Western States, but my legs are surprisingly fresh today.

I read a short article this morning about the amazing benefits of coffee drinking.  I love studies that support my habits.  Sadly I read Marion Nestle’s piece “The perils of food and nutrition research” next.  It’s about the inherent difficulties in nutrition research and why single food studies should be suspect.  But if I believe my morning coffee makes me healthier and smarter and prettier…

Sleep well.  Food log back up tomorrow.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Recovery (caving) day

  1. footfeathers says:

    I have yet to find research stating that caffeine is bad; even just read where 6mg per kg of body weight increases endurance in athletes (that’s like 420 mg for me!!). I figure two venti-sized Starbucks before a race should do the trick (or spend the day in the bushes).

    Caving the day after racing 50 miles… I could lie on the sofa and watch a program on caving.

    • lizahoward says:

      Oh, I agree totally about caffeine/coffee. I just personally have extraordinary crashes as it wears off that I’m trying to avoid.
      Watching caving sounds a bit dull. No rabid bats.

  2. Tika says:

    Keep believing. I do. After all, if you feel healthier, smarter and prettier….

    Are caves in TX not cold? (Asa’s shirt.)

  3. Ultrawes says:

    We called it spee lunking in my day(caving). Might be good if there is a cold pool in it for the legs.
    Caffeine is good for the ultrawes, coffee is bad. The acidity of the coffee is what iritates stomach and joints on me. I am loving the Hammer Gel Mocha with 50MG per shot however.

    • lizahoward says:

      I’m going to call it potholing from now on like I’ve read they do in the UK.
      I love caffeinated gels. Espresso Love in particular. What a good name. (And I’m not just saying that because I have some free ones in my cupboard.)

  4. Paige T. says:

    Last month we saw a film during the Banff Mountain Film Festival up in Salt Lake City that followed a couple of guys on a caving expedition. They were really secretive about location and what not, and the stuff they showed was unbelievable (not to mention the cracks they squeezed themselves through, yikes!)! Not my cup of tea (I’m kind of a whuse), but it sure was cool to watch it from the safety of my cushy auditorium seat! 🙂

    Glad you’re feeling fresh post-race! I’m now craving watermelon. I can’t even remember the last time I had any!

    • lizahoward says:

      A friend of mine read watermelon had some magic properties for runners (something about increased blood flow) and he brings some in a cooler to eat after our long summer runs. Really cold watermelon after a hot run cannot be beat.

Leave a Reply

