Darn those Bulgarians

Oh my gosh am I sore!  All (15 of) those Bulgarian split squats have crippled me.  I’m always surprised by how unfit I am at anything besides running forwards.  I did a rotation at children’s inpatient mental health facility while I was in nursing school.  They had a great playground, and I swung around on the monkey bars with the kids and got feedback on my cartwheels.  The next day I couldn’t use my arms because they were so sore.  I should expect that with the big-legs-little-useless-arms-T-Rex physique I’ve nurtured.  But you’d think I’d have enough leg muscle to do a few squats.  Well, you’d be wrong.  Should be fun running this morning.

Hope you’re not feeling sore today — and you don’t resemble a T-Rex.

Food log:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Darn those Bulgarians

  1. footfeathers says:

    THAT EXPLAINS IT! (and I’m blaming you, of course, because avoiding responsibility cleanses the conscious – Plato said that, I think)
    I crawled out of bed, confused already by the time change and what that may have done to impede my beauty sleep, and was (am) sore as hell. I ran 20 yesterday but big deal; it was those iron-legged Bulgarians that leave me shuffling for coffee this morning. Thanks Liza (and sadistic Amanda).

    • lizahoward says:

      Amanda always suggests workouts in such a nice, reasonable way. Totally puts you off your guard, and then you’re squashed like a bug. Sorry you had to shuffle to the coffee.

  2. Harold Neiper says:

    Hehehe! Yeah I have found that any sort of leg work, in particular walking lunges, pretty much debilitate me for about a week. I’m always amazed at how, like you said, one can run for 20+ miles but doing something as little as a few minutes of leg work kill you. Hope it goes away soon!

    • lizahoward says:

      Thanks Harold. Asa’s helping me work out the soreness today by forcing me to chase after him in various stores. He’s good like that. Happily I’m still a bit too sore to do the leg workout scheduled for tonight.

Leave a Reply

