Spring Break, Nannies, and Transcendence

There’s not much time for blogging in the land of Spring Break.  I scowled at the empty parking lot at UTSA when I dropped Eliot off this morning.  Darn you college kids and your fun.  I almost shook my fist at an Explorer on Friday with “SPRING BREAK!!!” and a big margarita glass painted in neon colors on the rear window.  Don’t get me wrong; Asa and I have been having some good fun these past few days.  But the reason he goes to a little day school is so I can run.  And I tell you what, running, core workouts, stretching, Bulgarian split squats, 8 hours of sleep, AND being a conscientious mother without a TV in the house, well, something’s got to give.  (That would be personal hygiene.)  I do not know how you parents who workout at the end of a long workday do it.  Honestly.  I’m not worthy.  Send me advice.  And, maybe, a bottle of wine.  And I only have one child.  Who’s great.  My grandmother had six children.  And aside from one instance when she tied my aunt to a tree in order to chase after my father down the street, she was entirely self-possessed and relaxed.   There are a few children in Asa’s class who have both day nannies and night nannies.  That’s cheating, right?  But if anyone reading has an extra nanny they’re not using this week, I’ll keep my self-righteousness to myself.

Anyway!  So March’s resolution is to get the Howard financial house in order.  It’s less a house and more a palapa really.  Regardless, we actually met with a financial planner this evening.  She’s a wonderful person and I have great hopes she’ll be able to tell us how to put the $3.40 we have left over at the end of the month to work for us — outside of a tall Starbucks soy latte.  As Ms. Rubin says, “Prosperity allows us to turn our attention to more transcendent matters — to yearn for lives not just of material comfort but of meaning, balance, and joy.”  Let’s hear it for transcendent matters!  And maybe just a little material comfort too.  (I’m coveting some new dish towels.)

Sleep log: 8 hours!!!

Food log: Lost the pictures I took of the meals.  Arrgh.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spring Break, Nannies, and Transcendence

  1. Tika says:

    Liza, it takes a village, and sadly we no longer have those. And, yes, school breaks are not helpful (though I can imagine the “teachers” might be inclined to disagree). Give yourself a break, you have a something that will play a 30 min. video and let you do your squats and/or core workout, right? I have definitely let the “must shower everyday” rule slide since becoming a mom. Just wait for the second to arrive, you might forget to brush your teeth!

  2. Gene Taylor says:

    Liza,
    Love the house to palapa reference. I guess you don’t need walls all that much in San An.
    We just bought a pile of washcloths at Walmart. Maybe they have cheap dish towels as well.
    Hang in there,
    GT

  3. Paige T. says:

    I’m still laughing about the mention of your grandmother tying your aunt to a tree…that is hilarious!! 🙂

    I have zero parenting advice as I’m not yet a member of that club. But, I do know for a fact that everything always ends up working out!

  4. Lauren says:

    Where’s the petting zoo? We’re also looking for things to do this week…

    Running with preschoolers at home is definitely tough. I’m not looking forward to the summer no-preschool months. Although we go to Lifetime Fitness, which is $$ but worth it if you use the “free” childcare a lot. Both of our kids love it and view it as a chaotic, mostly unchaperoned playdate. 😉

    –Lauren (wife of 7-foot-tall Robert)

  5. lizahoward says:

    Fiesta Farms http://www.fiestafarmlc.com/ off Shanefield on the way to Government Canyon. It’s $7/person and Asa loved it — though he didn’t pay much attention to the animals. It’s both great and kind of horrible (tell me what you think of the stuffed animals tied to the trees if you go.) Definitely worth doing. We got there at 9 when they opened and that seems like the way to go — unless you like millions of children trying to feed goats at the same time.

Leave a Reply

