Chickens and tendonitis

Eliot got back from Ohio tonight and I’m enjoying some puttering time while he works on a chicken coop in the garage.  It’s going to be one of those fancy wheel-around-the-yard-fertilizing-the-grass-high-speed chicken coops.  We don’t really have grass in our yard per se.  Grass-like weeds.  But they’ll be well fertilized.  My knowledge of chickens is limited to the Muppet Show, but/so I’m very excited.  I’m guessing those fancy Martha Stewart-type chickens with the feather pompadours and colored eggs wouldn’t survive a summer in southern Texas.  Oh, well, it won’t be the last time Ms. Stewart fails to impact the décor around here.  I can’t wait to send Asa out to collect eggs.  “Boy!  Time for your chores!”

I got a random injury yesterday trying to shove my feet into a pair of old Tevas.  Apparently all the running has enlarged my feet a bit.  (Attractive.)  I tried to loosen the straps, but they wouldn’t give much and when I took the sandals off fifteen minutes later I’d developed some pretty severe tendonitis on the top of my foot.  Tendonitis I can hear when I move my big toe.  Have you ever heard tendonitis before?  Entirely unpleasant.  I stuck my foot in one of Eliot’s socks along with a bag of ice and I’ve been sucking down Ibuprofen today.  It’s not squeaking anymore, but it’s still a bit swollen.  I’m taking it as a message that I need to go shoe shopping.  Yes?

Sleep log: 7

No training

Food log:  Missed the boat on protein today.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Chickens and tendonitis

  1. Trimble says:

    pretty sure your feet shouldn’t squeak… but I’m no foot doctor…

  2. footfeathers says:

    It’s also one of those things you can’t stop messing with, “Maybe I’ll just move it back and forth some more.” creak, creak, creak. “Now, slowly.” creeeeaaak, creeeaaak.

    It’ll go away soon enough; just keep it stabilized (i.e. wear shoes constantly) for a couple days.

    Oddly enough, I had it in my wrist (painful!) after carrying hand held bottles for 10 hours at Bear100. Injuring a wrist running 100 miles. Only I could manage that.

  3. Paige T. says:

    Eeeeek, creeky toe tendon! I had that a few months back, I think they call it crepitus. Of course, I ignored the creeky sound and wore the offending shoes a couple more times. Oops 🙂 It’ll go away.

    I LOVE the chicken coop idea! The first I’d ever heard about that kind of fertilization was in The Omnivore’s Dilemma (awesome book, by the way). I would totally do that if I had a yard. One day!

    • lizahoward says:

      I always thought crepitus was bone ends rubbing against one another, but that creeky toe tendon sound needs a good name.
      I need to finish Omnivore’s Dilemma. I got sidetracked halfway through a couple of years ago. In Defense of Food is my favorite so far.

  4. Olga says:

    My feet grew 2 full sizes in the last 10 years. And I have developed arthritis in my big toes, which squeak now quite a lot. Isn’t it wonderful this running thing we do? Ultra-knitting, my dear friend, ultraknitting for sure.

  5. Domingo says:

    Could be because the Teva is thinner and more ridgid. The shoes you normally wear have much cushion. Most runners tend to be heel strikers so we tend to walk that way as well. Could be what caused the flare up. Just a thought.

    Domingo

    • lizahoward says:

      I think it’s really just that I no longer have dainty feet. It’s okay, I’ve wanted new sandals for a long while, but I could never justify it because Tevas don’t die.

Leave a Reply

