Sick as a dog and jean shorts

One Coke and two Sprites.  That’s what I’ve had to eat in the last 36 hours.  This morning found me curled up in a ball on the couch while Asa played with Legos.  The boy had given up asking me to play with him, but every now and again he’d ask me to look at a fire engine he’d built.  “I can’t open my eyes now son; Describe it to me.”  Pathetic.  At lunchtime, I texted Eliot to bring home a “regular Coke.”  It was a low point in our marriage when he called from the Quik-E-Mart asking if I wanted caffeine free Coke.  “NO!!  For the love of God, Man, bring home some caffeine I can stomach!!!”  In Eliot’s defense, he’d spent some time in the wee hours of the morning (after I’d woken him up with my whimpering) researching stomach bugs.  And, apparently, the web is not a fan of caffeine because it increases intestinal motility.  Blah blah blah.  In my defense, I’d been almost 18 hours without caffeine at that point, and a massive headache on top of wrenching stomach cramps seemed unfair.

I can almost stomach the thought of toast now and I’m looking forward to running tomorrow while Asa is in school.  So onto a much more important topic: Jean shorts.  I bought a pair of jean shorts at Old Navy — because I didn’t have any shorts (don’t ask) and it was in the mid-80s.  I brought these inexpensive shorts out to Tucson and wore them while we were prepping for the Gila course.  And I can’t tell you the amount of grief I got about them.  You would have thought I was wearing this:

Apparently hemmed jean shorts are beyond the pale.  Did you know this?  I can’t believe Old Navy let me down so completely.  I also can’t believe it was my male co-instructors who were giving me a hard time about my fashion choices.  I am a mom living in Texas for gosh sakes.  There’s only so much I can do to combat social norms down here.  AND they weren’t complaining when I whipped out a makeshift mom purse to carry some supplies we’d made a 20-mile hike for at the end of the course.  Men.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sick as a dog and jean shorts

  1. mtnrunner2 says:

    Funny as always, in spite of the stomach bug. I hate that. Get well!

    Reason number two for drinking caffeine is intestinal motility, and the web should know that.

    What’s “fashion”?

  2. Domingo says:

    Take care of yourself. Let your body recharge.

  3. Lisa says:

    Liz, I’m just seeing this post. Hilarious! That dress, oh my, reminds me of the Laura Ashley days in the 80s. White pantyhose and matching white shoes. oh dear.
    Funny thing about fashion- we are bombarded daily with what is “in” or not.
    I think the more people don’t care, the more stylish they are.
    By the way, I don’t like the “in” thing that has been around too long- skinny tight jeans that are completely unflattering.

    Speaking of fashion- do you like the running skorts? Are they comfy??

    • lizahoward says:

      I was a huge running skort fan, but I’ve swung back to the shorts side lately — in the summertime anyway. The extra skirt material just gets too sweat soaked around here. They are very comfy, and the compression shorts underneath are awesome at preventing chaffing.

Leave a Reply

