Movie time

Playing tonight on the treadmill:  Emma with Gwyneth Paltrow and Death’s Shadow, a “darkly humorous” British television mystery.  Eliot came home from the video store once (when you still went out to the video store) with a movie called Liza about a guy who kills himself by huffing paint.  I’m hoping these movies will be a bit better, but I’m not holding my breath.  At least I’ve got the treadmill to entertain me…  I need to install a mini fridge in the garage and stock it with beer to attract treadmill company.  And maybe start calling the room “the sauna.”  What do you think?

In other news, I have not killed Eliot’s garden while he’s been gone.  I’ve watered it twice daily and it looks none the worse for my attention.  I’ve still got some time to kill everything.  The tomatoes, peppers, onions, and squash have to put up with me through Sunday.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Movie time

  1. Tony Maldonado says:

    I Love Gwyneth Paltrow……..She’s great even in cooking shows I’ve seen her in 🙂
    Did you say Beer?

  2. Ted says:

    Maybe a movie theme festival? 1939 is called the golden year of the golden age of movies; here’s the list: http://www.films101.com/y1939r.htm
    Or, what about what Cavell calls the “genre of remarriage comedy”; that includes: “It Happened One Night”, “Bringing up Baby”, “The Philadelphia Story”, and “The Awkward Truth”.

    • lizahoward says:

      I like it! Perhaps I will dress up in an appropriate running costume…

      • Ted says:

        Well the Wizard of Oz would offer many fine costume options, but don’t neglect your Abe Lincoln outfit! I’ll make a pitch for “The Awful Truth” which has brilliant comedic timing–in outline, it’s the story of a couple who divorce, sabotage each other’s new love interests, and then…. And, since I seem to be wearing my professorial hat this morning (e.g. being a pompous know it all), try “Stagecoach” with “Abe Lincoln”–both John Ford and they have some themes that are speaking to one another. Of course, what beats “Chariots of Fire” for running inspiration?

      • lizahoward says:

        I will look for them all at the library today. It’s finally raining here after months and months, so I’m going to set Asa free in the children’s section with the rest of San Antonio’s pre-schoolers while I search the video section. Will post pictures of me with the Abe beard and hat as soon as I get find appropriate supplies in our crafts bin.

Leave a Reply

