Hazmat Guy and confidence

Did you see something better today than this Hazmat Lego guy?

Not me.  I love this guy.  (His actual Lego name is: “Hazmat Guy.”)  Asa’s just borrowing him temporarily from a friend.  I want to go out tomorrow and buy a dozen of them and place them around the house.  He’s just so horrible, he’s delightful.  Who needs flowers.

I had a pretty disheartening run today.  I wanted to take a nap a lot more than I wanted to go for a run — so I did.  My friend Olivia salvaged the day by watching Asa in the afternoon, but I still didn’t manage much of a run.  Here’s a link to an article by Matt Fitzgerald entitled “Don’t Separate Mental Training from Physical Training.” about how workouts should be geared towards instilling confidence.  Indeed.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hazmat Guy and confidence

  1. footfeathers says:

    I’m hazmat guy this week.

  2. olivia says:

    HAZMAT Guy made the blog!!
    I think this may excite me a tad
    bit more than the “surlac pit” comment!
    LOL!
    BTW, Robert was beyond blissful to know you
    borrowed the videos:)

    • lizahoward says:

      What?! I use surlac pit motivation all the time now with Asa. And he slept with Hazmat Guy last night. It’s only a matter of time before we’re making a trip to Houston together to visit the Lego store.

  3. Gene Taylor says:

    Liza,
    I believe we are destined to have a number of bad runs and a number of spectacular runs. When you have a bad run, you have exhausted one of them, and it is my experience that a good one usual follows. If you can get rid of the bad ones in training, the odds are good that a spectacular run may be more likely on race day.
    So, enjoy the rotten days and bad runs.
    Optimistically yours,
    Gene

    • lizahoward says:

      Thanks Gene! I didn’t know about the good run/bad run reckoning. That’s very heartening news. Makes yesterday seem much more worthwhile for sure. Let me know if you ever need a similar boost of optimism. I owe you. 🙂

  4. Lauren says:

    Eh, my kids thought you looked pretty fast yesterday. So if a preschooler’s impression of relative speed means anything to you… And Helen liked the pink shirt.

    I think we’re going to make a trip to the Lego store in Austin sometime soon. We’ll keep an eye out for Hazmat Guy, although Huck prefers Bad Shooter Guy with Big Gun.

  5. Tom B. says:

    Has anybody noticed that Hazmat Guy has a look of panic? ……. & he has the suit on to protect himself. What does that mean for the rest of us who were going to go for a run outside?

Leave a Reply

