Pancakes and pre-birthdays

Asa’s eating a pile of pancakes,  I’m typing, and NPRs on the radio — and all is right with the world.  I did have the worst run ever yesterday, unfortunately.  I decided to call it quits after eight miles.  I could have kept slogging along for another 16 miles, but it just seemed pointless.  I know I can run when I’m feeling awful; No need to do it all the time.  I’m not sure why I was so wrecked, but I’m feeling 100% better this morning, so it seems that “listen-to-your-body” was a good decision.  Mostly I just hate to give up the weekly mileage — and not knowing why I felt like I’d downed a pack of Benadryl.  I dragged around like I’d run 100 miles all day.  I’m going to sit down with my training and nutrition logs this afternoon and try to figure it out.  I’m also going to do the family budget today.  And clean the bathrooms.  Then I will drink heavily this evening.  (Kidding.)

I got in to trouble with Asa’s teacher last week for not attending his pre-birthday party.  All the kids who have birthdays during the summer got feted last Wednesday.  She told me about the celebration on Monday let me know what time I should arrive.  I told her I had to work.  (Sounded better than “go for a long run.”)  She said (I swear), “Well, we all have to make our choices.”  I almost felt wildly guilty, but it’s not even close to Asa’s birthday.  And the only reason he goes to that little school is so I can run while he’s there.  He’s also three.  Anybody remember any pre-birthday celebrations before the age of four?  “Make our choices,” indeed.  Thank goodness I have all sorts of other things to feel guilty about; No room for skipping-pre-birthday-party guilt.

Nutrition log:

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pancakes and pre-birthdays

  1. Jane Marcello says:

    Guilt is over-rated! And you listened to your body! We are proud!

  2. Lisa says:

    Oh Liza, couldn’t agree more. Feeling guilty is poisonous! Believe me, I know. Ruby doesn’t get half her homework done most days and I let her go to school in the same shirt for 3 days in a row because she wants to. Her hair is not as curly as mine but it is almost always a mess and she doesn’t give a poo. I have no energy to fight with her in the morning about how she should look respectable for school. I am glad she hasn’t fallen into the “I am -perfect-because-I-have-perfect-clothes” trap that I see already in her little first grade classmates. She is going to be a free thinker! ; ). When I finally let it go, I felt so much better!

    Listening to your body is always a good thing. On my 10 miler yesterday, I stopped and stretched a bit because I felt so tight all over. Initially I felt *guilty* for stopping but then I had a great run, hills and all. For me it’s all about not struggling with my thoughts and feelings so much and then I am more free to enjoy my life.

    Keep healthy, stay strong and have a good week Liza!

Leave a Reply

