Short hair

Eliot talked me down from chopping all my hair off last night.  Well, he talked me down from making the appointment anyway.  I always get the urge to have very short hair this time of year.  In point of fact, Eliot was silent when he saw the picture of the haircut I was considering.  Then he said (slowly) I should go ahead and do it.  When I pushed he said he did prefer long hair, BUT that I would look great however I wore my hair.  Right.  Long disheveled hair it is.  I’m already sweating.  (Emma Watson, I think your hair is lovely.)

I had a great speed workout yesterday.  I didn’t push things and I felt about 900% stronger than last Wednesday.  Amanda thinks I was still recovering from not eating while I was sick the week before.  Darn you glycogen stores.

Gotta book some tickets to Ireland now.  Send me your orders for the Guinness Shop.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Short hair

  1. Gene Taylor says:

    Interesting conversation re: short hair vs. long hair. Laura and I have had the same conversation several times in our 18 years of marriage and it was almost word for word like yours. I, like Eliot, prefer longer hair on women but want my wife to be happy. A compromise like a good trim and maybe a slight style change has served us well.
    Glad you are back in running form,
    Gene

  2. SteveQ says:

    I’ve always preferred long hair (full disclosure: I’m a guy with a ponytail), right up to the second I hear “Ow, you’re on my hair. How hot is it in here? Gah – there’s nothing I can do with this hair. All I do is walk around with wet hair all day after I shower.” Most women seem to cut their hair short when they have infants who grab it.

  3. Shane Thread says:

    Liza – I found your blog because you are a great runner. I keep coming back to your blog because you are witty and funny. Today, however, Ads by Google topped you when they placed an add for hair restoration for ME below your post about hair. Makes me wonder how they learned of my need. Too funny.

  4. Herb Abrams says:

    I love short hair!!! However I am a guy and it is completely acceptable for me to have short hair. Although having too short of hair on a woman is not the thing most guys like. There are many great shorter type hairstyles available that might be a compromise between the easy to care for short hair you desire and the longer hair your husbands craves. Good Luck in your hair style decision and glad to hear you are doing better at your training today!!!!

    • lizahoward says:

      This short hair post has gotten a lot of thoughtful comments. Funny what strikes a chord. About to put my hair in a ponytail and hop on the treadmill for 2 1/2 hours to simulate some WS hills.

  5. Iris says:

    You are going to run in Ireland, Liza? Good for you!! I’m glad you are going for it. When is the fundraiser??

    On a totally unrelated note, you have inspired me to start running again. We’ll see how the knee does, but I’ve gone a couple of mornings and I found a hot yoga place in Jackson to help stretch me out and keep the knee healthy.

    Love reading your blog now that I know about it. Really loved your latest posting about that children’s book. Hilarious. My kind of book. Makes me want to have kids just so I can tell them to “Shut the @#% up!”

    • lizahoward says:

      We’re just going to put Asa to work in a sweat shop or in a maquiladora, whichever takes 3 year-olds — to fund the tickets. Okay, maybe a bake sale too.
      Yeah about the running. 🙂 I will keep my fingers crossed for your knee. Next year we run the length of the Gila during the independent instructor travel days. You tell Hovey. 😉
      And you have to do all the swearing in your head with the kids and the bedtime stories. Unless you’re Dan. “Close your eyes, kiddo. It’s time to f#$* this chicken.”

Leave a Reply

