Impact

I woke up this morning at 3 for no good reason.  There was a text from my dad in New Zealand on the phone.  “What is the impact of your win?”  I looked around the kitchen. Dirty dishes on both sides of the sink.  Dirty pots on the stove top.  Legos carpeting the living room.  Bathrooms… unpleasant.

Cinderella texts: “House still a disaster.  Blog readership up.”

I enjoyed yesterday, ignoring household duties and playing around on-line.  It is so fun to hear from you all.  Today, though, it’s bills, correspondence, calendars, and laundry, laundry, laundry.  (Asa decided to put on all his underwear at the same time yesterday afternoon.)  I think the win gives me another day to ignore the bathrooms though.

I have to start thinking about how to fund the trip for Western States too.  Right, there are worse things to have to think about.  But with a $370 entry fee, airfare to California, lodging in Squaw Valley, and hiring someone to watch Asa …. actually getting there is going to require some thinking.  Bake sale?  Sweatshop work for the boy? (Small, nimble fingers…)  The amount of privilege revealed by even being able to consider such a trip feels uncomfortable this morning.  Certainly humbling.  We’ll see how it all plays out.

Here’s a picture of most of us San Antonio runners at the race start Saturday.

I am wearing the Patagonia “Das Parka,” a down jacket underneath that, and a warm jacket underneath that.  Why wear one puffy jacket when you can wear two?  Sadly, I forgot my puffy pants at home.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Impact

  1. Trimble says:

    So much to think about. Let me know if you can think of a way we can help. Good to read your blog this am- makes me happy.

Leave a comment