Not in Hawaii anymore, Toto

It is gray and cold here in San Antonio today.  I think it was 32 outside when I dropped Asa off this morning.  I realize this would be a warm spell for many of you, but my blood has thinned living here the past five years.  I could hardly buckle Asa into his car seat this  morning in all his layers.  He looked like the little I-can’t-put-my-arms-down kid from “The Christmas Story.”  We’re not in Hawaii anymore, Toto.

I listened to a podcast on Endurance Planet yesterday while I was paying bills and doing laundry.  It was with Dave Scott before he was inducted into the USAT hall of fame.  Kevin Patrick asked him which of his triathletes’ performances he was proud of or inspired by as a coach.  He talked about “mainstream, middle-of-the-pack” amateurs generally and then said he thought, “that a lot of the amateurs have a much higher discomfort level when they’re performing than a lot of the pros.”  I’m curious to know what y’all think about that.  If anything.

Gotta get out the door for a run.  I can’t believe Rocky is only a few weeks away.  At least it’s cold enough outside to justify a top today.  Hope you’re all warm and cozy whereever you are.

This entry was posted in ultrarunning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not in Hawaii anymore, Toto

  1. Steve says:

    That’s an interesting insight. Not sure I know the answer as I am a newbie middle – of the – packer to the endurance thing. I know that the pros I have met tend to use highly associative strategies that focus on their performance and that the amateurs tend towards more disassociative strategies to distract them from their discomfort. You can sometimes read this different mental approach in race reports as well. Cheers and congrats.

    • lizahoward says:

      I’ve read a bit about the associative v. disassociative difference — I think in regards to the use of music during races. Thanks for reminding me. I’m going to search out that article again.

Leave a comment